The Pastoral Parish council is an organized advisory group to assist the pastor in carrying out his role as pastor. The pastor establishes a pastoral council because he seeks practical advice on pastoral matters and wants to draw on the wisdom and prudence of selected parishioners.

Parishioners serve on a pastoral council for the good of the parish. They are willing to investigate pastoral matters and to reflect on them thoroughly so as to make sound recommendations to the pastor. They are nominated by their fellow parishioners and names are drawn to see who will be selected. There are 12 members who each serve a three-year term.

The Council meets monthly, at 7 p.m., in the lower church or the parish library on a schedule that is convenient for the pastor and members of the council.

Our current parish council at St. John’s (as of September, 2013):

Rev. Richard E. Cannon
Robert Burke
Mary Morrissey
Janet Ceddia
Matthew Cellupica
Marie Eldridge
John Keane
Bill Maginnis
Michael McNamara
Debra Villani
Contact: Fr. Richard Cannon (508) 435-3313 Ext: 214